Connections – nature part 1: snow

This morning, everything was covered in a light dusting of snow. We had a few days of above-freezing temperatures around New Years, so any accumulation that had built up from before Christmas had disappeared long ago, and we’d had several days of walking around in a cold, desolate-looking city. Nothing is worse than frigid temperatures without the snow! What’s the point in the cold, otherwise? Granted, I don’t have a long driveway to clear, but some of you must be with me on this, no? Anyway, perhaps it’s because last winter was so unseasonably warm, with so little snow, but this winter I have been all about the magic of snow. Clean slate, y’know? All the ugliness of the world disappears, for a while at least.

When I was younger, I used to make everyone I was friends with spend time catching snowflakes in their tongues with me, at least once every winter. Now, I know what you’re thinking, if you grew up in a place with snow: everyone did that when they were 8 or 9 years old, right? Well, I’m talking about doing it right into my late 20s. Yup. I’m sure the people who saw me doing this late at night, on my way home from a night out with friends, thought I was a few tools short of a full shed! But I guarantee that every friend I asked to do this with me smiled just a little bit more than they would’ve otherwise.

Try it! See if you don’t feel just  little more joyful, or catch yourself enjoying it more than you thought you would. I bet you’ll surprise yourself.

Leave a Reply

