365 Reasons

I don’t know about you, but 2010 wasn’t the kindest year to me. I encountered some personal and professional challenges that left me, a normally glass-is-half-full kinda girl, wondering what the hell my life was turning into. I started down that dark spiral that leads to no good. You know the one. The one where you ask yourself “why me?” and “what did I ever do to deserve this?” and assume that because you did things a certain way, the so-called “right” way, things were supposed to work out better than they have so far.

Well, we all know how far that will get you.

So after I had done some solid wallowing, I decided that the only way to find my way back to me, to the person I think I actually am, who believes that life is full of magic and beauty and amazing experiences and things and people to behold, was to find ways to remind myself of that, every single day. And that is what I will do. For the next year, I will write an entry every single day, to celebrate the many things that are giving ME (and maybe others out there) reasons to hope, love and dream. Because ultimately, you can’t control what happens to you, you can only control how you react.

Some people start a gratitude journal when life gets them down. I’ve done it, it worked for a while. But a journal is something you can shrug off, because no one else is reading. It’s not public. I don’t actually care if anyone ends up reading this blog, but the possibility of it, the fact that this is out there for the world to see, means that I have something to be accountable to.

This is my year to live in optimism. Let me know if you want to join me for the ride.

~G

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 20:16:46

    I want to hop on! I need to see wonder and magic toooooooo!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

